Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Thanks

New Member Introduction

Hi forum,
    Just thought I'd post an intro before bombarding you all with questions lol.
    I was a TV engineer up until about 15 years ago, then got into the laptop refurb business here in Scotland.
    I had 900 sq ft business premises and employed 2 other engineers plus a secretary. But recently, the price of brand-new (cheap junk) laptops has started to dip to the 200 mark, making the second-hand market damn slow, coupled with the current trend of tablets, iPads and smartphones, I began struggling to pay wages, rent and all the other overheads, as well as having a wage myself...
    So, in June 2014 I accepted the situation and said goodbye to my staff and gave up on the premises. I'm back to basics now working from 2 spare rooms in my home, and looking for a new angle.

Inspired by the YouTube videos (thanks Louis!) I'm looking to retrain my component level electronic skills which were last used over 15 years ago in CRT TVs, so I've a hell of a lot of catching up to do lol!

So that's where I'm at at the moment. Still in the refurb business as a one-man show but hopefully looking to get commercial premises again in the not too distant future, this time I'll evolve with current trends and be more ready to diversify and adapt.

Greetings from Scotland.

2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to KB Laptops For This Useful Post:

ifix407 (01-28-2015), Tellyman (06-09-2017)

Thanks

Re: New Member Introduction

Forget worthless PC laptops, you can buy a PC for $275. Focus on Apple where there is still money, and once there is no money left in that we will find something else! This is why I scream on people when I see them working for hours on $240 netbooks, there is no point to that insanity.

I am a Thinkpad user myself but if I tried to pay the bills off of this I would be bankrupt.

4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to vze1lryy For This Useful Post: